City Government

The Mayor and City Council are elected to make decisions on behalf of Richmond's 1957 residents. They adopt and oversee the City's annual budget and set the annual property tax levy as one of the funding sources for the budget. The Mayor and Council also are responsible for policy decisions ranging from land use and development, awarding contracts and program development. 

The City of Richmond operates a Council-Administrator form of government; the City Administrator is responsible for carrying out the directions of the Council majority. In this way, the Mayor and Council can focus on "big picture" issues while they oversee the Administrator who manages the day-to-day operations of the City.
Each Council member serves as a member of either the Planning Commission or the Economic Development Authority.   They also take on duties as a member of the Rocori Trail Board, and the Stearns County Municipal League.
The Mayor is elected to a 2 year term, while the Council members are a elected to an alternating 4 year term. 
Council Meetings are held the 1st Wednesday and 3rd Thursday of the month at 6:30 pm.   The meetings are open to the public and held at Richmond City Hall.